As at 19 May 2009 CTE010

KIRKLEES COUNCIL

MEMBERSHIP OF CABINET, COMMITTEES AND PANELS 2009/10

	Page
Cabinet	2
Corporate Governance and Audit Committee	
Corporate Parenting Panel	4
Licensing and Safety Committee	5
Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee	6
Personnel Committee	7
Planning and Highways Committee	8
Planning Sub-Committee (Heavy Woollen Area)	9
Planning Sub-Committee (Huddersfield Area)	10
Standards Committee	11
Appeals Panel	12
Overview and Scrutiny Panels	13
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Regeneration	13
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Corporate Affairs	13
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Adults and Healthier Communities	13
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Safer, Stronger Communities	13
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Children and Young People	13
Overview and Scrutiny Panel for Health Inequalities	13
Area Committee - Batley	14
Area Committee - Birstall and Birkenshaw	15
Area Committee - Colne Valley	16
Area Committee - Denby Dale	17
Area Committee - Dewsbury	18
Area Committee - Holme Valley North	19
Area Committee - Holme Valley South	20
Area Committee - Huddersfield North	21
Area Committee - Huddersfield South	22
Area Committee - Kirkburton	23
Area Committee - Mirfield	24
Area Committee - Spen Vallev	25

2009/10

CABINET

Members 9

LABOUR (5) LIB DEM (4)

M Khan* A Marchington
S Pandor K Pinnock
D Sheard J Smithson
K Smith C Stanfield

M Walton

^{*} Chair

CORPORATE GOVERNANCE AND AUDIT COMMITTEE

Members 4

(One each from largest 4 groups (excluding group leaders), plus ex officio (non-voting) Members, namely Cabinet Portfolio holder for Corporate; Chair of Overview and Scrutiny Management Committee; and Chair of Standards Committee)

CONSERVATIVE (1)	LABOUR (1)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN PARTY (1)
D Hall	E Firth	A Raistrick*	G Simpson

* Chair

M Khan/K Pinnock, and R Iredale Ex Officio

CORPORATE PARENTING PANEL

Members 4 (One Member from each of the 4 largest political groups (except group leaders) to include the Cabinet Portfolio holder for Children and Families and the relevant Overview and Scrutiny Lead Member)

CONSERVATIVE (1)	LABOUR (1)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN PARTY (1)
B Smith	K Smith*	M Fearnley	D Hardcastle

^{*} Chair

LICENSING AND SAFETY COMMITTEE

Members 15

CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (4)	GREEN PARTY (1)
T Brice J Cook A Murphy R Rogers D Yates	M Ahmed S Hall C Harris M Hussain P O'Neill	C Iredale* R Parchment C Stanfield L Wilkinson	D Hardcastle

^{*} Chair

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY MANAGEMENT COMMITTEE

Members 4 (One each from largest 4 groups)

CONSERVATIVE (1)	LABOUR (1)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN PARTY (1)
D Yates	C. Harris	R Iredale*	J Stewart Turner

^{*} Chair

PERSONNEL COMMITTEE

Members 9

LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (4)
M Khan*	A Marchington
S Pandor	K Pinnock
D Sheard	J Smithson
K Smith	C Stanfield
M Walton	

^{*} Chair

PLANNING AND HIGHWAYS COMMITTEE

Members 15

CONSERVATIVE (5) LABOUR (5) LIB DEM (4)

M Bolt	M Akhtar	A Denham*
D Hall	B Jones	A Pinnock
A Murphy	P McBride	D Woodhead
K Sims	M Sarwar	T Woodhead

C Smith C Scott

(1 General Vacancy)

^{*} Chair

PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HEAVY WOOLLEN AREA)

Members 16

CONSERVATIVE (7) LABOUR (6) LIB DEM (3)

J Cook M Akhtar N Hussain K Iqbal G Lowe A Pinnock A Murphy M Harkin A Raistrick S Patel P Kane* P O'Neill K Taylor E Ward C Scott D Yates

^{*} Chair

⁺ Deputy Chair

PLANNING SUB-COMMITTEE (HUDDERSFIELD AREA)

Members 14

CONSERVATIVE (4) LABOUR (5) LIB DEM (5)

T Brice	B Jones	A Denham
J Cook	P McBride	C Iredale
A Murphy	M Sarwar	L Wilkinson*
B Smith	M Sokhal	D Woodhead
	M Walton	T Woodhead

^{*} Chair

⁺ Deputy Chair

STANDARDS COMMITTEE

Members 5 (Not to include the Leader or more than one Cabinet Member, and to include, as far as possible, Members from at least 4 groups; plus 4 external Members, one of whom will be Chair, and 3 Parish Council representatives)

CONSERVATIVE (2)	LABOUR (1)	LIB DEM (1)	GREEN PARTY (1)
N Patrick C Smith	K Smith	D Ridgway	D Hardcastle

External Members:

Mr Paul Blythe* Mr Derek Binns Professor Alan Kitson Reverend Mike Roberts

Parish Council Representatives:

Councillor Margaret Barlow Councillor Peter Cunnington Councillor Charles Kaye

^{*} Chair

APPEALS PANEL

Members 15

T Brice J Calvert R Battye V Lees G Lowe* K Hussain N Patrick S Pandor R Iredale R Rogers K Smith A Marchington K Taylor T Woodhead	CONSERVATIVE (5)	LABOUR (4)	LIB DEM (5)
i Woodiicaa	V Lees	G Lowe*	K Hussain
	N Patrick	S Pandor	R Iredale

(1 General Vacancy)

^{*} Chair

OVERVIEW AND SCRUTINY PANELS

Members 36

CONSERVATIVE (12) LABOUR (12)LIB DEM (10) GREEN PARTY (2)

(i) Regeneration (6)

M Ahmed N Patrick
R Iredale A Pinnock
P McBride K Sims

(ii) Children and Young People (6)

M Fearnley M Sarwar
B Jones B Smith
R Parchment E Ward

(iii) Adults and Healthier Communities (6)

R Battye C Iredale
D Hardcastle V Lees
C Harris J Calvert

(iv) Safer, Stronger Communities (6)

G Lowe C Scott
D Firth G Simpson
R Rogers D Woodhead

(v) Corporate Affairs (6)

M Akhtar M Harkin
J Cook A Raistrick
D Hall D Ridgway

(vi) **Health Inequalities (6)**

M Bates M Sokhal R Battye K Taylor

E Smaje

(1 Labour Vacancy)

AREA COMMITTEE - BATLEY

Members 6

LABOUR (6)

M Akhtar

G Lowe

M Harkin*

H Mayet P O'Neill

S Pandor

^{*} Chair

AREA COMMITTEE - BIRSTALL and BIRKENSHAW

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

R Light A Palfreeman E Smaje*

AREA COMMITTEE - COLNE VALLEY

Members 6

LIB DEM (6)

M Fearnley C Iredale

R Iredale

A Marchington D Ridgway N Turner*

AREA COMMITTEE - DENBY DALE

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

J Cook* J Dodds E Ward

AREA COMMITTEE - DEWSBURY

Members 9

CONSERVATIVE (2)	LABOUR (5)	LIB DEM (2)
K Iqbal S Patel	M Ahmed* E Firth M Hussain P Kane C Scott	K Hussain N Hussain

AREA COMMITTEE - HOLME VALLEY NORTH

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (2) LIB DEM (1)

R Rogers B Smith D Woodhead*

^{*} Chair

AREA COMMITTEE - HOLME VALLEY SOUTH

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

D Firth*
N Patrick
K Sims

AREA COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD NORTH

Members 9

CONSERVATIVE (1)	LABOUR (6)	LIB DEM (2)
T Brice	J Calvert C Harris B Jones M Khan K Smith M Sokhal*	C Stanfield T Woodhead

^{*} Chair

AREA COMMITTEE - HUDDERSFIELD SOUTH

Members 12

LABOUR (3)	LIB DEM (5)	GREEN PARTY (3)	IND (1)
P McBride M Sarwar M Walton	R Battye* A Denham R Parchment J Smithson L Wilkinson	A Cooper G Simpson J Stewart Turner	J Grunsell

^{*} Chair

AREA COMMITTEE - KIRKBURTON

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (2) GREEN PARTY (1)

A Murphy* C Smith

D Hardcastle

AREA COMMITTEE - MIRFIELD

Members 3

CONSERVATIVE (3)

M Bolt V Lees* K Taylor

AREA COMMITTEE - SPEN VALLEY

Members 9

CONSERVATIVE (3)	LABOUR (2)	LIB DEM (3)	BNP (1)
M Bates D Hall D Yates	S Hall D Sheard	A Pinnock* K Pinnock A Raistrick	R Roberts

^{*} Chair

SUBSTITUTES PANEL 2009/10

Conservative (6)

- T Brice
- V Lees
- S Patel
- N Patrick
- C Smith
- K Taylor

Labour (6)

- E Firth
- C Harris
- B Jones
- M Khan
- S Pandor
- D Sheard

Lib Dem (6)

- R Battye
- N Hussain
- A Marchington
- R Parchment
- A Raistrick
- D Woodhead

Green (1)

G Simpson